A Doctor's Visit

A Doctor’s Visit, Three Novellas & Five Short Stories

By Siegfried Kra, M.D.

Poignant and insightful, A DOCTOR’S VISIT brings the realities of the medical profession to life as only good fiction can in the hands of a gifted storyteller. From a small New England town to the streets of Toulouse, France to a TB clinic in 1950’s Switzerland, these stories portray the emotional complexities of preparing for and practicing the medical profession. Despite their cool exteriors, doctors sometimes become infatuated with their patients. In spite of their superior intelligence and best efforts, doctors must sometimes come to terms with losing their patients. The realistic portraits of the doctors in these stories give the reader an honest view of those who practice the healing arts. It is the perfect gift for anyone involved in the medical profession, their families, and those who want to know what it is like to be a doctor.

In the tradition of Anton Chekhov, Somerset Maugham, Richard Selzer and other doctors who turned to writing comes this collection of fiction by a Yale faculty member and the author of 12 books, including THE THREE-LEGGED STALLION And Other Tales from a Doctor’s Notebook published in hardcover by W.W. Norton (1989) and in paperback by Fawcett Crest (1990). Dr. Kra’s personal history is as intriguing as any work of fiction. He grew up in Europe during the early years of World War Two the son of a wealthy Jewish coal dealer in Danzig who fled with his family to the U.S. after killing a German in a car accident. As a young man, Dr. Kra overcame poverty and prejudice, earning a fellowship to Yale and going on to study medicine in Switzerland. These stories, some previously published in magazines and journals, are based on his fascinating experiences.

Reivews:

“Every life is a story. Read A Doctor’s Visit and become more aware of your story. The tears and laughter which this book will lead you to will make you more aware of what we all experience in our lifetime.”

— Bernie Siegel, MD author of 365 Prescriptions For The Soul And Help Me To Heal

“We are here gifted with a second volume of Dr. Siegfried Kra’s page-turning reminiscences of an extraordinary medical career, in which he generously shares with us the intimacy and humanity of his unique experience of life.”

— Sherwin Nuland, MD, author of How We Die (A.A. Knopf) and Lost In America: A Journey With My Father (A.A. Knopf)